174. Ode to a Coffee Urn

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Cup by Cup

coffeeambigram.jpgToday,
I drank my 100,000th cup of coffee.

I’ve been keeping count
for 47 years
entering one mark
for each cup
in a small spiral-bound notebook
that I keep in my pocket,
on the table,
somewhere nearby.

I drink,
I count,
I mark.

In the morning,
during the day,
as I sit wide awake long into the night.

And today,
I made the 100,000th mark.

I think I’m going to try pretzels next.

— pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

